Windows 8 "A media driver your computer needs is missing" error

Windows 8 Release Preview: Installation Attempts 9 and 10

Edit (13 Sept 2012): It worked! I tried to install Windows 8 RTM, and it worked perfectly. If you’re still having problems, try installing the Enterprise trial?

Nope, it’s still not working.

I’ve been getting this error – A media driver your computer needs is missing. - every time I tried to install it.

I tried to install Consumer Preview, thinking I can get it running, and install Release Preview from inside Consumer Preview, but I get the same error. I didn’t get that when installing Consumer Preview and Developer Preview many months back, though.

I think this may be due to some software I installed between the Consumer and Release previews, which are mainly the software installed for my course in SP.

I tried a few workarounds, including disabling unneeded devices and so on, and it didn’t work. I also read about how some drivers are available in only 32-bit, so now I’m downloading the 32-bit version, and will try installing it later.

Here’s my Microsoft Answers thread for this problem. 

I’ll post more updates when I have them…

4 thoughts on “Windows 8 Release Preview: Installation Attempts 9 and 10”

    1. I never managed to install Windows 8 Release Preview (or any of the previews for that matter), but Windows 8 RTM installed perfectly for me. Maybe you could try a RTM version?

Leave a Comment

